Texas Zephyrs announce Season XX Show

Coming off their second DCPI Open Class championship, the Texas Zephyrs are pleased to announce their Season XX production: Malice.


“In preparing for our next season, we wanted a show that would be both a sequel to our previous show, and the complete opposite,” says corps director Steven Silverberg. “Much as Season XIX’s “The Ascension” was a presentation of the ascent into heaven, “Malice” is designed to be a descent into the underworld.”


The corps continues its tendency toward unique musical selections with this year’s show. Musical selections include:

  • Sensemaya, Silvestre Revueltas
  • The Quietude, Manhattan Transfer (Chuck Jonkey, Alan Paul)
  • Tira Me a Las Aranas, The Mars Volta (Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Cedric Bixler-Zavala)
  • Drunkship of Lanterns, The Mars Volta (Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Cedric Bixler-Zavala)
“After the success we had using ‘Where the Streets Have No Name’ last year, we wanted to try and continue to explore the use of more “popular”-style compositions,” says Silverberg. “We wanted to base the show around Sensemaya, to take advantage of our excellent low brass, and that suggested a show with a bit of a Latin flavor, music-wise. “The Quietude” settles into the primal feel Sensemaya establishes, while the two Mars Volta tracks transition from what has come before quite well, and leave the audience with a heart-stopping conclusion.
The Zephyrs open up the competitive season in Rio Rancho, NM, on June 14.